Best photo proofing platforms for photographers in 2026 — 12 tools compared

Updated 29 July 2026. Every competitor detail was checked against the vendor's own pricing page on that date — plans change, so confirm at the source before you buy.
Which private gallery system is best for photographers?
There is no single winner — the billing model decides. If your session volume is irregular, paying per gallery is cheapest (PixiProof, Photonesto). If volume is steady and high, a subscription wins (Pixieset, Pic-Time, ShootProof, CloudSpot). And if print sales are real revenue for you, look at the commission first: it can cost more than the subscription itself.
Proofing platforms compared — the table
Four things actually move the invoice: how you pay, how much of your sales the platform takes, whether storage limits are stated as a number, and whether video is included without an upgrade.
| Platform | Billing model | Commission on sales | Storage limits | Video in galleries | Print store |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PixiProof | per gallery, or pooled Studio 100/300 GB | 0% | a published number on every plan | yes, on every plan | no |
| Pixieset | subscription | 0% on paid plans, 15% on free | plan tiers, "unlimited*" higher up | higher plans only | yes |
| Pic-Time | subscription | commission when they process payments | plan tiers | plan-dependent | yes, with labs |
| ShootProof | subscription (photo-count tiers) | 0% on every plan | counted in photos, not GB | not stated | yes, pro-lab network |
| CloudSpot | subscription | 15% on Free and Entry, 0% from Lite | 5 / 15 / 100 / 500 GB / unlimited | links only (Vimeo, YouTube) | yes |
| Zenfolio | subscription | 7% commerce fee plus payment processing | 15 / 150 GB / "unlimited*" photos | HD, 4K on the top plan | yes, from Professional |
| Picflow | subscription | no selling in the platform | 2 GB / 100 GB / 1 TB / 5 TB | yes, Full HD, 4K HDR higher up | no |
| Picdrop | subscription | no selling in the platform | 1 GB / 500 GB / 1 TB / 3 TB | yes, monthly conversion minutes | no |
| Photonesto | per gallery or subscription | 0% | per current offer | no | no |
| Mafelo | subscription | check with vendor | per current offer | check with vendor | print path |
| PhotoShelter | subscription $10–$45/month billed annually | check with vendor | 4 / 100 / 500 GB | not stated in pricing | yes, plus licensing |
| Lightfolio | subscription $0–$40/month billed annually | 15% on the free plan only | 3 / 30 / 100 / 1000 GB / unlimited | yes, 500 MB – 60 GB by plan | yes |
Verified July 2026. Vendor feature sets and prices change independently of us — treat this as indicative and confirm the terms on each platform's site before buying.
Per gallery or subscription? The arithmetic
The break-even is arithmetic, not preference. A subscription pays off once its monthly cost drops below the sum of the gallery fees you actually publish. At three sessions a month with 10 GB galleries kept live for three months, per-gallery wins almost every time. Past roughly fifteen galleries a month it flips — which is why PixiProof offers Studio, a pooled 100 or 300 GB allowance for the whole account, next to per-gallery pricing.
The second variable is commission. On $1,000 of print sales in a year, 7% is $70 and 15% is $150 — for many photographers more than the annual cost of the subscription itself. If you sell, add commission to the subscription before comparing.
PixiProof — proofing and delivery, per gallery or pooled Studio
Two models: pay per gallery on a published matrix, or Studio with a pooled 100 or 300 GB allowance across the account. 0% commission, always. Password galleries, client-side selection, photographer suggestions, optional offers at the point the client finalises their picks, video on every plan, EU photo hosting and GDPR compliance. The dashboard includes an AI assistant that reads your own account data. There is no print store and no lab integration — if printing is your main revenue line, you need a commerce-first platform. The first gallery up to 1 GB is free, no card required.
Best for: wedding, portrait, family and event photographers and filmmakers with irregular volume, who care about presentation and calm delivery rather than a print storefront. Interface and support in English and Polish.
Pixieset — the mature all-in-one ecosystem
Website builder, CRM, storefront, mobile apps and the largest community in the category. Subscription; the free plan carries a sales commission, paid plans do not. Storage comes as plan tiers, with an asterisked "unlimited" at the top. Video only arrives on higher plans.
Best for: studios that want one vendor for everything and accept paying for modules they do not use.
Pic-Time — built around selling and labs
Polished galleries, marketing automation and strong lab integrations, on an annual subscription. It shines where print sales are repeatable revenue rather than an occasional extra.
Best for: premium and wedding work with high volume and active print sales.
ShootProof — subscription counted in photos, 0% commission
Unusually for this category, plan tiers are counted in photos (1,500, 5,000, 25,000, unlimited) rather than gigabytes. There is no sales commission on any plan — their pricing page puts it as "keep every penny of profit". You also get e-sign contracts, a mobile gallery app, a simple portfolio builder and a pro-lab network. There is a free plan plus a 14-day trial with no card.
Best for: photographers who sell prints and resent commission, and anyone who thinks about their work in photo counts rather than storage.
CloudSpot — cheap to enter, but commission low down
Five tiers from free to $50/month, with storage stated as a number (5, 15, 100, 500 GB, unlimited). Watch the invoice: the Free and Entry plans take 15% of sales, and only Lite and above are commission-free. Video is handled as Vimeo/YouTube links rather than files in the gallery. The store is available on every plan.
Best for: photographers starting out who want a cheap entry — provided they do the commission maths.
Zenfolio — galleries bundled with a website
Three plans, a website builder on all of them, e-commerce from Professional upwards. The number that matters: a 7% commerce fee on fulfilled orders, on top of payment processing. Video is HD, with 4K only on the top plan, where photos are "unlimited*" while video storage stays a stated number.
Best for: photographers who want one subscription to cover website, portfolio and client galleries.
Picflow — team proofing, no selling
The closest thing here to collaborative and commercial work: approval status, comments, image annotations, private comments, unlimited collaborators. Video is native, Full HD on lower plans and 4K HDR higher up. Storage limits are stated honestly as numbers, from 2 GB on the free plan to 5 TB. There is no print store — different category.
Best for: commercial and advertising photography and teams, where the feedback round and sign-off matter more than print sales.
Picdrop — German hosting and fast selection
Strong in Europe, especially Germany. Real-time selection and feedback with no client account needed: comments, colour markers, votes and scribbles. Their pricing page states hosting in Germany and GDPR compliance — for some institutional clients that settles the decision on its own. Video exists but with a monthly conversion-minutes cap. No print sales.
Best for: photographers working with clients sensitive to where data is processed, and anyone who treats proofing as a quick feedback round rather than a storefront.
Photonesto — Polish proofing platform
Password galleries and client-side selection, well established among Polish wedding and reportage photographers. Per-gallery or subscription billing, no sales commission. If you are comparing it with PixiProof, focus on the marketing feature set and on whether you need video inside the gallery.
Mafelo — Polish subscription with workflow
Another Polish option: gated galleries, client picks, workflow and a print path. For people who prefer local tools and local support.
PhotoShelter — archive and licensing, not wedding proofing
Built for editorial, commercial and stock photography: large libraries, deep metadata, licensing, and work with newsrooms and brand marketing teams. Three photographer tiers — $10 (4 GB), $25 (100 GB), $45 (500 GB) billed annually — but the cheapest plan lists no client proofing tool at all; it starts at Standard. photoshelter.com itself now sells a DAM to brands and marketing teams, demo-led.
Pixellu — album design with galleries attached
Four products around the album: SmartAlbums, the Cloud Proofing add-on for approving drafts, SmartSlides, and SmartGalleries for delivery. A billing quirk worth knowing: SmartGalleries counts its limit in active galleries, not gigabytes — 100 at a time on Pro, and it does not reset monthly. The trial never expires but caps you at three galleries active for 14 days each, and the photographer interface is English-only. A sensible pick when the album is the real problem and the gallery is the accessory.
Lightfolio — small player with commission on entry
A full studio platform on five tiers from free to $40/month: galleries with proofing, a store, video hosting, websites, and a studio manager with CRM, invoices and a booking site. The 15% commission applies to the free plan only, and only when a sale happens; the cheapest paid tier is $7/month billed annually. Video is on every plan, from 500 MB to 60 GB.
Summary — who should pick what?
- Irregular volume, presentation matters — PixiProof (per gallery), Photonesto
- One vendor for everything — Pixieset, Zenfolio
- Print sales as real revenue — Pic-Time, ShootProof (0% commission), Pixieset
- Commercial clients and teamwork — Picflow, Picdrop
- Sensitivity to where data is processed — Picdrop (Germany), PixiProof (EU)
- Large archive and licensing — PhotoShelter
- Albums as the main product — Pixellu
- Free entry, with commission — CloudSpot, Lightfolio (do the maths)
Frequently asked questions
Is per-gallery or a subscription cheaper?
At a few sessions a month, usually per gallery — you pay only for what you publish. Past roughly fifteen galleries a month, a pooled-storage subscription is cheaper. Run the numbers on your last three months, not on your plans for next year.
Does sales commission matter if I do not sell prints?
No. If your revenue is the session fee and the gallery exists for selection and delivery, commission is a number with no effect on your invoice. Look at the billing model and storage limits instead.
What does "unlimited*" mean in storage limits?
The asterisk usually leads to a fair-use clause in the terms — a real ceiling exists, it just is not printed in the pricing table. That is why the table above separates limits stated as numbers from limits described in words.
Does a proofing platform need a print store?
No. Picflow and Picdrop have no selling at all, and PixiProof offers in-gallery offers at the point of finalising selections instead of a full storefront. A lab-connected store makes sense when printing is repeatable revenue, not an occasional extra.
Can I migrate galleries from another platform?
There is usually no automated migration between platforms — you download your own files and upload them again. In practice the easiest path is to start the new platform with your next session and keep the old one until its active galleries expire.
PixiProof includes your first 1 GB gallery free, no card required — the cheapest way to compare it against the platforms on this list using your own session. The full price grid is on the pricing page.
